Murder #35, Kelvin Easton, Mile End

MurderProject_035

Murder #35, Kelvin Easton, Mile End

Kelvin Easton, 23, was stabbed to death in a nightclub in Mile End. He was found collapsed at the bottom of the stairs at Boheme nightclub. Easton was pronounced dead at the scene and a postmortem gave the cause of death as a stab wound to the heart. 12 men were arrested during the investigation and one charged but no one was found guilty of the murder.

If I had to name the top ten road junctions I know in London, Mile End Road crossing Grove Road/Burdett Road in East London would be among them. And yet I probably never noticed the Boheme Nightclub at its southeast corner. When I read about the murder I couldn’t picture a nightclub there ut there it was as I came out of Mile End Station. Kelvin Easton had been murdered there but it wasn’t clear if it was inside or outside. I walked around the nightclub and at first concluded wrongly that it had occurred outside based on the police tape around the back. Unsatisfied I walked around the building some more and saw forensic detectives walk through the front door of the club. I peaked through the small glass windows and saw broken bottles, overturned chairs and blood. The glass was very opaque and I knew I couldn’t get a photo shooting through it and besides they were not the kinda photos I was looking to make. So I crossed the road and from several vantage points I made photographs of the front of the Boheme, which had a few already wilting flowers, marking the death of Easton, by the front door. Few people noticed the flowers but most passerbys did not  or were completely unaware a murder had taken place. It was what interested me more than anything, …how people react or don’t react or are unaware of the violence around them.

The murder of Kelvin Easton was never officially solved despite several arrests. Little did I know that Easton’s murder would indirectly lead to the London Riots a year later. Easton was a cousin of Mark Duggan, and possibly members of the same gang. It was thought by the police that Duggan knew who killed his cousin and was planning revenge. It was one of the reasons the police were monitoring Duggan, rightly or wrongly, and led to to the police shooting him dead in Walthamstow. I don’t know how true this story is but I heard it a lot during the time of my project and its come out as well during the inquest into Duggan’s death. Part of me thinks that the police are having trouble justifying the shooting. But there is a certain logic to it.Not the shooting but why they were monitoring Duggan. The biggest thing I take from it is how everything is connected and how one seemingly violent but obscure event can lead to something like the tragedy of the London riots.

The Book “The Landscape of Murder” will be published in October 2013 by Dewi Lewis Publishing

An Interactive Map of the Murder Sites I have written about

The Landscape of Murder Photos

The Guardian Weekend Magazine piece on my project and the Guardian Website Gallery

The British Journal of Photography

The Caption information comes from the MurderMap Website and the MPS Press Bureau

Leave a comment

Dinosauria

A paleontological blog aimed at keeping you, the readers, up to date on the biggest new dinosaur and palaeontological finds and theories

Polly Clark

website of the novelist and poet

takeonethingoff.com

A quest to pare it down to the best

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Are You Laughing At Me?

Wanderings and Wonderings of a Single Lady Traveller

who needs another photo blog

to share some thoughts about photography, by Christer Ek

Prison Photography

The Image / Incarceration / Representation / Media / Social Justice / Responsible Photography

The United Nations of Photography

The intention of our presence here is not to fulfill expectations. It is to promote questioning and debate. Both of which should be respectful and informed. Learning comes from listening not shouting. Our opinions may not be yours, and that is how it should be.

Peter Beaumont: The Bits that Don't Fit

Too long for Twitter and too short for journalism

Raphael Weissmann

The ideas and thoughts behind my photos.. I'll have a new website up shortly, in the meantime please enjoy my blog!

Breathtaking Memories

This is Ksenia Mist Photography Blog.

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Disphotic

Writing on photography

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

Wayne Ford's blog

Murder Sites in London 2011-2012 Photographs by Antonio Olmos