Murder #27, Solomon Sarfo, Brixton

MurderProject_027Murder #27, Solomon Sarfo, Brixton

Solomon Sarfo, 34, was stabbed to death in Brixton Hill, south London on Sunday, 27 February, 2011. He was found injured in Tilson Gardens at the junction with Forster Road at around 11.35pm. Paramedics attended but he was pronounced dead at the scene an hour later. A postmortem gave the cause of death as stab wounds including a fatal injury to the heart.On August 1, 2011 Jamie Rickerby was convicted of murder. Rickerby had tried to rob Sarfo of a large amount of cash. He was jailed for life with a minimum of 25 years before parole.

Brixton Hill/Streatham Hill is at the southern edges of what we call Brixton. I boarded the bus from Brixton tube south and got off just near Moorish Road.  I walked down Moorish Road past the flat where Lorna Smith was murdered. The flat’s windows where still boarded up. I made my way through the maze of the southeast part of Clapham Park estate and soon found the spot where Solomon had died. A few flowers were placed on the railings and blue bags of rubbish from a nearby construction site were all that marked the scene. While I was photographing I met a couple of detectives canvassing the area looking for witnesses or any information that would help their investigations. They chatted with me for a short time while seemingly perplexed about what I was doing and why. They told me vaguely of their suspicions about what had happened to Solomon. They seemed confident about solving the case.  I kept hoping someone besides cops would talk to me but for the couple of hours I was there no one came up to ask me what I was doing. I kept having to dodge construction trucks coming and going from the nearby building site. After a couple of hours I decided that the scene was not gonna change. The weather was grey and cold and I doubted I would get better light. I knew no one was going to come up and mourn Solomon while I was there. Solomon was from Ghana and had only been in London 5 years. Most of the people closest to him were very far away including his children and wife. London had devoured him before he had a chance to do something with his life. Maybe he had strayed into crime and drugs hoping for a quick route out of poverty. Maybe he was under a lot of pressure to provide for his family back in Africa, the lot of many immigrant men alone in London. Solomon’s Facebook page is full of the bravado common in young men but his first post in 2009 states “Can somebody tell where mr truth is. It seem this world we living in right now is full of lies”

An Interactive Map of the Murder Sites I have written about

The Landscape of Murder Photos

The Guardian Weekend Magazine piece on my project and the Guardian Website Gallery

The Caption information comes from the MurderMap Website and the MPS Press Bureau

Leave a comment

Dinosauria

A paleontological blog aimed at keeping you, the readers, up to date on the biggest new dinosaur and palaeontological finds and theories

Polly Clark

website of the novelist and poet

takeonethingoff.com

A quest to pare it down to the best

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Are You Laughing At Me?

Wanderings and Wonderings of a Single Lady Traveller

who needs another photo blog

to share some thoughts about photography, by Christer Ek

Prison Photography

The Image / Incarceration / Representation / Media / Social Justice / Responsible Photography

The United Nations of Photography

The intention of our presence here is not to fulfill expectations. It is to promote questioning and debate. Both of which should be respectful and informed. Learning comes from listening not shouting. Our opinions may not be yours, and that is how it should be.

Peter Beaumont: The Bits that Don't Fit

Too long for Twitter and too short for journalism

Raphael Weissmann

The ideas and thoughts behind my photos.. I'll have a new website up shortly, in the meantime please enjoy my blog!

Breathtaking Memories

This is Ksenia Mist Photography Blog.

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Disphotic

Writing on photography

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

Wayne Ford's blog

Murder Sites in London 2011-2012 Photographs by Antonio Olmos