Murder #7, Winston Lloyd Sinclair, Enfield

Murder #7, Winston Lloyd Sinclair, Enfield

Winston Lloyd Sinclair, 73, bled to death after suffering a stab wound to his leg at his home in Windward Close, Enfield, north London.Mr Sinclair, was taken to the Chase Farm Hospital with a cut to the femoral artery on January 15, 2011. He died the following day. His wife Leonora Sinclair was charged with murder. On October 25, 2011, Leonora Sinclair, aged 50, was cleared of murder by the jury but convicted of manslaughter. She was sentenced to ten years imprisonment on December 6.

The news reports about Winston Lloyd Sinclair’s murder was that he was stabbed over an argument about a television show. I did not go soon after the murder but about a month after. The murder site was a small road with just a few houses on it. It felt very claustrophobic. The flowers next to the door of the house had already dried out. I could see neighbours peeking from their windows wondering what I was doing and I hoped someone would come out and talk to me but no one did. I also sensed that somebody was inside Sinclair’s house, maybe one of his children. The car in front seemed new but the tires were flat and it was obvious it had not been moved in a long time. I hesitated a long time before I started making photographs.

Domestic violence would be something I would become very familiar with over the course of my project but this was the only time that a woman had killed her male partner. As I packed up my cameras, a detective drove up and asked me what I was doing. After telling him he told me he was there to ask a few questions of the neighbours. The detective told me I would be doing a lot of domestic violence  scenes and he hoped that whatever I was doing it would highlight the fact that a lot of women get killed by their partners. He shook his head when telling me that this was a rare case of a woman killing a man.

 The Landscape of Murder photos on my website

Leave a comment

Dinosauria

A paleontological blog aimed at keeping you, the readers, up to date on the biggest new dinosaur and palaeontological finds and theories

Polly Clark

website of the novelist and poet

takeonethingoff.com

A quest to pare it down to the best

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Are You Laughing At Me?

Wanderings and Wonderings of a Single Lady Traveller

who needs another photo blog

to share some thoughts about photography, by Christer Ek

Prison Photography

The Image / Incarceration / Representation / Media / Social Justice / Responsible Photography

The United Nations of Photography

The intention of our presence here is not to fulfill expectations. It is to promote questioning and debate. Both of which should be respectful and informed. Learning comes from listening not shouting. Our opinions may not be yours, and that is how it should be.

Peter Beaumont: The Bits that Don't Fit

Too long for Twitter and too short for journalism

Raphael Weissmann

The ideas and thoughts behind my photos.. I'll have a new website up shortly, in the meantime please enjoy my blog!

Breathtaking Memories

This is Ksenia Mist Photography Blog.

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Disphotic

Writing on photography

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

Wayne Ford's blog

Murder Sites in London 2011-2012 Photographs by Antonio Olmos