Murder #30, Anthony Whitefield, Loughton

MurderProject_030Murder #30, Anthony Whitefield, Loughton

Anthony Whitefield, 47, was murdered and dismembered sometime between  February 6th and 31st of March 2011. Mr. Whitefield’s severed arms were found in Roding Lake while the torso and legs were found in other locations. Whitefield’s head has not been found. Douglas Binet, 54,  was arrested and found guilty of the murder. After being found guilty , Binet was asked by the court to reveal the location of Whitefield’s head and Binet refused.

I normally found out about murders through daily checking of the Metropolitan Police’s web site and the excellent Murder Map website run by Peter Stubley. I also regularly checked local newspaper websites and places like the Daily Mail, a newspaper I don’t like but have to grudgingly accept that unlike most national newspapers they cover crime well ( though I sometimes think their motives are suspect). I was unaware that a murder had occurred in Loughton at first because it was technically in the jurisdiction of Essex police and not the Met. Another reason I was unaware of it at first was because it was not classified as a murder. An arm had been found by an angler fishing in Roding Lake and then the lake had been drained by the police looking for more body parts. The other arm was eventually found. Douglas Binet, the man eventually convicted of the murder had buried other parts of the body in the rear of his house nearby. Anthony Whitefield’s head was never found.

I was drawn to the lake when I finally knew enough details of the case to make it part of my project. I took the long tube journey to Buckhurst Hill on the Central Line. I mistimed the journey and arrived much later than I had expected. I had a about half an hour of daylight left when I began. I remember it being miserably cold and overcast  as I made my way around the lake crossing paths with dog walkers and people making their way home from work. The lake had been emptied during the search for body parts and when I had read this I imagined a tiny lake but Roding Lake was much bigger than I had expected. I had a hard time imagining it without water and kicked myself for having missed that. The lake had retuned to its serenity by the time of my visit. As the light disappeared my exposures became longer. I photographed from several vantage points until almost no light was left. I made my way back through the park wondering if the Whitefield’s head was buried nearby among the patches of trees that surrounded the lake.

The area was once covered in forest, part of what is now Epping Forest. The area with its tree cover and location close to London have made it notorious as a burial area for murder victims. Dick Turpin and his Highwaymen known as the Essex gang operated in the area. It was easy to see from the remnants of woods around the lake that this was a good place for hiding out and burying secrets when this area was still countryside, before the trains and the subsequent development. Murder victims had been found buried nearby as recently as 1966. I knew that Whitefield’s head lay nearby somewhere and that the area still held dark secrets.

The Book “The Landscape of Murder” will be published in October 2013 by Dewi Lewis Publishing

An Interactive Map of the Murder Sites I have written about

The Landscape of Murder Photos

The Guardian Weekend Magazine piece on my project and the Guardian Website Gallery

The Caption information comes from the MurderMap Website and the MPS Press Bureau

Leave a Reply

takeonethingoff.com

A quest to pare it down to the best

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Are You Laughing At Me?

Funny things about a serious life

who needs another photo blog

to share some thoughts about photography, by Christer Ek

Prison Photography

The Image / Incarceration / Representation / Media / Social Justice / Responsible Photography

The United Nations of Photography

The United Nations of Photography is an independent platform formed to encourage informed lens based media conversation and debate.

Peter Beaumont: The Bits that Don't Fit

Too long for Twitter and too short for journalism

Raphael S. Weissmann

The ideas and thoughts behind my photos.. I'll have a new website up shortly, in the meantime please enjoy my blog!

mimimollica

Mimi's Pholitics

Philipp Ammon's Photography Blog

A Photographer's Notes and Musings

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

Breathtaking Memories

This is Ksenia Mist Photography Blog.

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Disphotic

Exploring photography and it's intersections with journalism, art, and history.

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

